WRX immobilizer Brant removal - DYI

AGWRXBUGGY
Learner Driver

WRX immobilizer Brant removal - DYI

Postby AGWRXBUGGY » Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:32 pm

Hi All,
After 3 times the immobilizer anti hijack system immobilized by WRX buggy I decided to remove it. The module and keypad were replaced but the system was not behaving as it should and was some times going into anti hijack mode automatically. I called Subaru and they were going to charge $80 to disable it. As a qualified mechanic I decided to have a look into removing the system from the car myself - complete success, the immobilizer had been COMPLETELY removed. If you are savvy with cutting and joining vehicle electrical wires then its fairly straight forward. If anyone wants to know how to remove the immobilizer contact me.
AGWRXBUGGY good post posting.php?f=16&mode=post&sid=7439434d03e06e1196c5cb6efdabc566#

jetmf
Learner Driver

Re: WRX immobilizer Brant removal - DYI

Postby jetmf » Fri Feb 12, 2016 12:38 pm

Hmm, I would take that into consideration, how's your car's performance now? is it better?

AGWRXBUGGY
Learner Driver

Postby AGWRXBUGGY » Wed Mar 02, 2016 2:24 pm

Hi jetmf,
The car is now perfect after 1 month of removing the brant system. one notable change is the car starts properly after long runs in hot weather. The brant system cuts the starter wire on the steering column and joins the 30amp cut wires to <30amp wires on the brant. The starter system has been restored back to 30amp.
The car is now the same if you purchased one from OS and starts every time no questions asked.

AGWRXBUGGY
Learner Driver

Postby AGWRXBUGGY » Wed Mar 02, 2016 2:28 pm

Also as a side note I also just replaced the standard and broken turbo inlet pipe with a new 5 layer silicon unit. Performance and economy have greatly improved.

AGWRXBUGGY
Learner Driver

Postby AGWRXBUGGY » Sat Jun 25, 2016 7:57 pm